Spur of the Moment

What’s a girl to do when she’s got a spur of the moment weekend trip?

Forget her camera, that’s what!  So, this will be a quick post (on slow hotel internet) of old pictures with new words 😉

The morning started out with this: 

Mimi's looks the same pretty much everywhere 😉 Always tasty!

The Mimi’s shown is actually one I went to while living in Florida (note the rain), but they all look pretty much the same.  For those not blessed enough to have eaten at Mimi’s Café, they do breakfast-lunch-dinner but truly shine in the breakfast category.  Their baked goods are legendary (muffins the size of small children come to mind) and the service is almost-universally excellent.

This morning I had the Two “AA” Large Eggs breakfast, one egg over-hard the other scrambled.  Those hot and tasty eggs came with fruit stolen from MamaDi, a heaping pile of red skin breakfast potatoes (which were passed along to my sister’s fiancé, whose early arrival was the cause of said weekend trip), a glass of orange juice (which was passed along to MamaDi, since I’d just brushed my teeth before its arrival), and a huge buttermilk spice muffin.  The spice muffin was not passed along, although I did share so I only ate about 2/3 of it.  After a little digging I’ve discovered the muffin was about 500 calories with around 10 grams of protein.*  I’ve often said muffins were calorie bombs (come on, I could eat a cupcake instead!), but holy cow!  It’s a good thing I don’t eat breakfast out that often because this wasn’t as filling as the breakfasts I usually eat at home. :/

Anybody have a calorie bomb they indulge in occasionally?  Besides muffins I occasionally indulge in super-fudgy chocolate cake (not any time soon, since I gave up chocolate for Lent).  I try to keep small indulgences in my daily diet so there aren’t a lot of things I truly think of as calorie bombs.

Well, it’s time to hit the mall and look at tuxes—I swear my life has been taken over by this wedding and I’m just a bridesmaid 😉  Here’s hoping your weather’s as nice as ours: 72° and sunny! 

Wish you were here?

*I want to throw out there that I do not count calories, but I do try and stay aware of the contents of my meals: calories, fat, protein, fiber.  Since going mostly meatless, I’ve tried to be very conscious of getting enough protein and healthy fats.

Time for Some Link-Love:

How to Stop Hating Exercise from Health
Study on the Effects of Mercury in Fish on Heart Health
Jenna’s Pizza Rolls Recipe over at Eat, Live, Run

About Kelli@Baker on the Run

Just a Girl Rising to Meet Life’s Challenges One Meal and Mile at a Time View all posts by Kelli@Baker on the Run

Leave a Reply

