Sunbutter and a Chest Cold

I have never been so happy to see my own kitchen.  After a week of fried and junk foods, vacation-burnout hit hard and I’m ready to make my own meals.  Before a workout I try not to eat a full meal; most days I eat a snack of about 300 calories with plenty of fat, protein, and carbs.  Today’s preworkout snack was a treat featuring my new Sunbutter.  How is this new to my life?  I love sunflower seeds!  This spread has a savory flavor and slightly grainy texture: a refreshing change from my usual peanut butter.  Sunbutter on a Nature’s Own Whole Wheat Thin-Sliced Bagel hit the spot and I watched Ruby with MamaDi for half an hour before hopping on the treadmill.

Breakfast Part 1--Sunbutter is going to be a new obsession ;)

My workout could’ve been better.  I’m fighting a lingering cough from a nasty flu/chest cold I had way back in February and today it reared its ugly head.  I was feeling good for the first twenty minutes of my hill workout and then I was hacking and wheezing.  No amount of water seemed to help so I cut my run short around the 3 mile/30 minute mark.  Though I felt fine once I got off the treadmill (despite the continuing cough I wasn’t in much discomfort—mostly it was irritating and disruptive) I thought a healthy smoothie was in order.

Green Deliciousness--maybe it can scare away a cough?

Does anyone else experience a lack of appetite after running?  I have trouble thinking about solid foods for an hour or two after so I normally stick to a smoothie to refuel.  Lent’s hitting me hard in the smoothie department: I love a chocolate/banana/something flavor and the no-chocolate-milk-till-Easter is only getting harder.

This smoothie was no Green Monster (well, technically I think maybe it was…) but the nutritional stats weren’t too shabby.  I threw in a couple handfuls of spinach, three ice cubes, 1/4 cup of pineapple juice, 1 cup of milk, and 1 giant frozen banana.  Fruit does make a smoothie high in sugar, but there wasn’t any added sugar, so I’ll take it!

Recipe Analysis by CalorieCount.com

Afternoon update: I think I picked up a normal cold in addition to my lingering cough.  There’s a chance my wheezing and now-runny nose are due to allergies, but it’s fairly unlikely since I have never suffered from sensitivity to anything besides lactose.  I plan on cuddling up with a Robert B. Parker novel and a bowl of soup for the afternoon.  Maybe even an attempted nap is in order.  Hopefully this is a 24-hour bug, because I want to get back on track with my training after a week away.  Cross your fingers!

Time for some Link-Love:

 Tempting Food Can Trigger Urge to Splurge
An Egg a Day Keeps the Doctor Away
12 Ways to Eat More Colorful Fruits and Veggies

About Kelli@Baker on the Run

Just a Girl Rising to Meet Life’s Challenges One Meal and Mile at a Time View all posts by Kelli@Baker on the Run

4 responses to “Sunbutter and a Chest Cold

  • Alyssa

    OH, no! Take your vitamins, get extra sleep, and take a day off of cardio. Let your body recoup for a while, especially if it’s only gotten worse since your run.

    Aaand, what are the nutrish stats on sunbutter compared to peanut butter?

    • Kelli@Baker on the Run

      Thanks so much, Alyssa :) I actually slept till 1PM today and am already feeling a lot better.

      As for the Sunbutter, they’re really similar to peanut butter. A 2 tbsp serving gives you 200 calories, 16g of fat, 7g carbs, 4g fiber, 3g sugar, and a whopping 7g of protein (a little more than your standard peanut butter which tend to be between 4 and 5.5 grams). You also get some of the harder to find minerals like copper, magnesium, and zinc with a sunflower seed butter. Tasty!

  • Elizabeth H, blogger for SunButter

    Hi Kelli (and Alyssa too),
    So happy you found SunButter. And I’m happy I found your blog! If you’re so inclined, there’s a recipe box full of SunButter creations here: http://bit.ly/9Pm79a Since I blog for SunButter, I’m looking forward to seeing what else you may create with it. (Although I proudly admit my fav “recipe” is the version with flax seeds simply by the spoonful.) Take care!

  • Alyssa

    blugh! I’ve got something going on with my sinuses… three cheers for health soon! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.