Disney Vacation Day 4: Afternoon Nap?

Disney Day 4 started with a scream—literally.  MamaDi has a penchant for insanely long, steamy showers, so just as I was blinking angrily at the alarm clock (I had planned on getting up at six thirty and it didn’t go off) the fire alarm shrieked.  I slipped on a sweatshirt and opened the door to our room because I initially thought someone had tripped the alarm in the whole building.  Then I remembered one of my apartments in Florida, where we had to leave the porch door open whenever someone was in a shower to keep our alarm from going off.  I told LilSis to try and get the window open as I held the door to our room open to the hall.  A few people poked their heads out of their rooms to glare at me.  MamaDi kept asking what was wrong, was it the whole building?  No, just our room, just the steam from the shower.

An inauspicious start to our final day of park fun, but I have to say I was sure we’d have a great last day anyway.  We lounged around the hotel and didn’t leave until ten o’clock.

LilSis and the Fiancé love Disneyland

When we got to the park, we headed straight for Tomorrowland to get Fastpasses for Space Mountain.  For those unfamiliar with the Disney parks, Fastpasses are available to everyone by putting your ticket in the machines at popular rides.  The Fastpasses allow you to take a shorter line later in the day (you can pick up a pass every two hours or so).  If you time them right, it really helps you skip long waits for crowded attractions.  Fastpasses in hand, we hopped in the stand-by line.  Half an hour later we were screaming in the dark on one of my favorite coasters.  It’s definitely a classic!

By 11:00 it was 80° and sunny—time for a little break in the shade ;)  I was craving fried food and fish and chips were near at hand.  Score!  I have to say, it’s pretty easy to eat pescatarian (if not particularly healthy) in the Disneyland area (a small section of Anaheim), but if you’re a vegetarian you’re stuck with soup or junk food.  I wish I had remembered to take pictures of my food this week.  Highlights included: teriyaki tofu rice bowl on the Wharf at California Adventure (scarfed down while waiting in line for the California Screamin’ Roller Coaster), buttermilk flapjacks and eggs at the local Original Pancake House, fresh-popped popcorn in a collectible bucket, shellfish sampler at Roy’s Hawaiian Fusion, and shrimp in a spicy broth at Bubba Gump’s.

We took the afternoon off since Disney vacations can be tiring.  MamaDi met with me after I ran a mile and a half and we walked this route.  Now MamaDi and LilSis are napping while I type.  Try as I might, I’ve never gotten the hang of midday sleep.  Tonight we’ll head back to the park for the fireworks show.  I can’t wait :)

7 Wallet- and Eco-Friendly Things Our Grandparents DidSix Surprising Superfoods
Healthy D-Fense: What’s so Great About Vitamin D?

About Kelli@Baker on the Run

Just a Girl Rising to Meet Life’s Challenges One Meal and Mile at a Time View all posts by Kelli@Baker on the Run

2 responses to “Disney Vacation Day 4: Afternoon Nap?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

